Hispanic Heritage Month

Hispanic Heritage Month national 09122013

Hispanic Heritage Month began in September 1968 when Congress authorized President Lyndon B. Johnson to celebrate National Hispanic Heritage Week.   In 1989, Congress extended the celebration to a month, September 15 through October 15,  in recognition of the independence of five Latin American countries: Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, and Nicaragua.  Mexico, Chile, and Belize also celebrate their indepedence days during this period as well as Columbus Day.  More information here. 

The term Hispanic or Latino, as defined by the U.S. Census Bureau in 2010, refers to Puerto Rican, South or Central American or other Spanish culture or origin regardless of race.  According to the 2010 Census, there are 50.5 million people of Hispanic or Latino origin.  Hispanics represent 16% of the population.  Read more here. 

Smithsonian Education – Hispanic Heritage Month   

Hispanic Heritage Month Government   

Government Facts for Features      


Hispanic Heritage Month 20 cent stamp 09122013


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s